weight loss roller coaster

Dear World,
So i’m feeling good after this sort of unintended reset. I was motivated before, but really I don’t think my head was in it. I was still so broken and hurting emotionally. Now, I feel better and therefore more motivated and focused on what I’m doing.

I started tracking food and lifting again. This time I’m following IIFYM (if it fits your macros) which is basically you can eat what you want as long as it fits your set of macros. In the first week I lost 1.4kg (about 3 pounds). I know that the first week there can be a big loss then it slows down after that so I’m totally fine with that. When I stepped on the scale again this Monday I was upset to see that I had gained .3kg. It’s not that much but I was pissed that I hadn’t lost anything. Later that night, I started my period. Then it made sense! Of course I’m going to be heavier.

It reminded me of a post I saw recently about weight loss. Losing weight is never a straight fall. It’s up and down all of the time and so many things can influence that number. The important thing is to not get discouraged if the scale goes up or doesn’t go down. If you’re doing what you’re supposed to be doing, just stay on track. The next week will be different. Now, if you have weeks and weeks of putting on weight, and you notice you’re getting fatter, then yes something is wrong and should be adjusted. But a small increase in one week is nothing. Also, don’t put too much stock in the number on the scale anyway. If you are gaining lean muscle mass the number might go up or stay the same, yet you lose fat. Someone who weighs 170 pounds with 35% bodyfat will look plump. Someone who weighs 170 pounds but with only 20% bodyfat will of course be ‘thinner’  and more lean. I’m just using the scale in the beginning because I do need to lose fat. And seeing that number go down motivates me. But, I know at some point I will need to stop paying attention to it, as long as what’s happening in my body composition is what I want to happen.

My scale number went up a little bit. I blame it on my period. I ate well last week and exercised, I stuck to my plan. So we’ll see what next week brings. I have noticed that I already feel more lean than I did before. And a coworker who hadn’t seen me since May noticed something different and asked me if i’d been working out (and this was after only one week of tracking and working out). It’s not a huge difference on my body, but enough for someone to notice.

Anyway I wanted to post this to remind myself (and others if you’re reading) that this is what weight loss journeys really look like:

weightloss

 

Here’s what I’ve been up to: I’m continuing with stronglifts. The first time back i had to deload by 50%. At first I was a little upset by that, but what could I expect after so long away?  Also, once I started lifting, I realised that it was a good idea! Since I’m starting over I’ll just act like this is the beginning.

Week 1, Day 1

Squat  25kg 5×5

Bench press 20kg 5×5

Barbell row 29.5kg 5×5

Battling ropes: 6 ‘sets’ of 25 seconds each

Hip adductor :55kg 3×10

Hip abductor: 55kg 3×10

Week 1, Day 2

Squat 27.5kg 5×5

Overhead press 20kg 5z5

Deadlift 39.5kg 1×5

Battling ropes: 6 ‘sets’ of 25 seconds each

Hip adductor :55kg 3×10

Hip abductor: 55kg 3×10

Week 1, Day 3

Squat 30kg 5×5

Bench Press 22.5kg 5×5

Barbell row 32kg 5×5

Battling ropes: 6 ‘sets’ of 25 seconds each

Hip adductor :55kg 3×10

Hip abductor: 55kg 3×10

Week 2, day 1

Squat 32.5kg 5×5

Overhead press 20kg 4×5, 1×3  I could not increase weight with this one and could not complete the last set. Not sure why…

Battling ropes: 6 ‘sets’ of 25 seconds each

Hip adductor :55kg 3×10

Hip abductor: 55kg 3×10

I was supposed to go and lift yesterday but I just couldn’t. It was the first day of my period, i was crampy, had a terrible headache and just felt soo tired and drained. I thought it better not to go and to go when i don’t feel so bad. I felt like my ‘performance’  would have suffered. So, I plan on going today. Let’s see if I can increase the weight 🙂

Love,
Bad-ass bitch

 

 

Leave a comment