confused and overwhelmed about nutrition :(

I’m suddenly feeling overwhelmed and confused.

I’ve been reading a lot of articles about weight training and nutrition and there are contradictions all over the place even amongst articles on the same website.

From what I understood, it’s best to eat 6 small meals a day about 3 hours apart. I’ve been following that for the last 5 days or so and it’s working well. What I was really confused about is what ‘macros’ I need (amount in g of protein, fat and carbs needed a day). I found some calculators and according the first one I need:

1683 calories a day

protein 165g
fat 83g
carbs 62g

I’ve been able to get the protein and the carbs but 83g of fat doesn’t seem possible. I know it should be good fat like nuts, avocado, etc but how to get that much?

I went to a different calculator and got this result:

1642 calories

protein 187g
fat 63g
carbs 85g

Totally different results where the carbs and fat are concerned. I was feeling even more confused (from the beginning I haven’t felt like i’ve got a good handle on the nutrition requirements) so I posted on a forum asking for advice. Then I was told that you don’t need to eat 6 times a day (even though every body building programme on the website has this ‘method’ for nutrition), and when and what you eat after a workout doesn’t matter (even though i’ve seen posts and articles talking about that you should eat 30 mins after and it should be protein and carbs), and that I should just eat whenever I want as long as I reach my goals. I was told that I had been reading myths (in articles posted on the very site where i posted in the forum!) and that everything I said is wrong.

In both calculations the calories seem quite high. Before  my calorie goal was 1200 a day for weight loss.

I just don’t know what to do. There is so much contradictory information out there. This transformation is so important to me and I want to make sure I am doing it correctly from the very beginning. I suppose that’s how I am with everything.

I know how to eat a healthy diet to lose weight. But as I understand it if you’re weight training you need a different kind of nutrition plan in order to lose fat and gain muscle. I don’t have any problem  ‘eating clean’ as that’s what I’m mostly used to anyway. I just don’t know what amounts I need and when I need to eat because I’ve just been told that the info I had is wrong.

Other things that I’m confused about. I’ve read these things and then been told or read the opposite.
eat as soon as you wake up (I can’t because I take thyroid meds and need to wait 30 minutes)

do cardio first thing on an empty stomach

do cardio after breakfast

 

Grrr

 

8 thoughts on “confused and overwhelmed about nutrition :(

  1. I totally get it. There’s just so much information out there. We become paralyzed by the paradox of choice. There’s more than one ways to skin a cat.

    In fact, I’ve just published my own nutrition book and it’s on a free promotion. I’ve managed to achieve optimal health and high performance while increasing my energy. This is a great coincidence. Check it out! I think it will help you.

    http://www.amazon.com/The-Self-Empowered-Superhuman-Diet-ebook/dp/B01DHSMMB6?ie=UTF8&*Version*=1&*entries*=0

    Like

  2. Hey! Loved reading your post. It can be really hard sometimes to know what to believe. I spend HOURS trying to educate myself as best I can and hopefully this might help:
    1. You don’t need to eat 6 meals a day. Do what works for you. It could be 3, it could be 5… However you like to do it. Personally I eat 3 bigger meals because I like to feel quite full at the end
    2. You can exercise fasted or not. I have read loads of studies that don’t really show benefits on one more than the other. For example- if you workout in the morning and your a little hungry your workout will probably suffer. Is it not best to have a banana or something and smash through your workout?
    3. In terms of MACROS the best calculator I have come across is IIFYM.com you plug in all your stats and your lifestyle and it gives you your BMR and TDEE (calories dependant on activity.) you then adjust your macros depending on your goals. If you are endurance focused (burning loads of calories and doing loads of cardio) it is best to have a diet of roughly 60% carbs (or higher.) if you are trying to cut fat, then keep your protein high (up to 45%) and carbs and fat the rest….
    4. Fat sources. So I have to eat around 60g of fat a day and I hit it like this: 1 avocado roughly weighing 120g, 25 almonds and a few little things here and there. It’s actually easier than you think to get there! If you’re not a big fan of fats then push your carbs higher and lower the fats.
    I hope that helps! If you wanna chat more I have a blog: Alexandraaitken.wordpress.com or I’m on Instagram ajaitken1

    Like

    1. hi Alex! thanks so much for all of your advice, this definitely helps. The last few days I’ve been more focused on just getting the nutrition I need rather than the timing of it all, but for now it’s working for me to do the 6 meals, especially with my schedule. But, it’s nice to know that I needn’t be so rigid and can change that if I feel like it. I used IIFYM to get my macros so I’m trying to follow it. Still am not quite hitting them but it’s all trial and error at this point. Right now my fat sources are like yours: avocado and nuts, I will just increase the amount. My goals are fat loss so i’m keeping my protein high and carbs a bit lower. I may not have it right just yet, but I’m feeling 🙂 I really appreciate your input! heading over to your blog now.. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

